New York Spring

I managed to miss my flight to Costa Rica this morning and don’t plan on ever doing such a thing again. So, instead of dwelling upon it, here’s a blog entry!

I. It’s starting to feel like spring again so I take runs along Astoria Park. The melting snow unveils litter but there are flocks of young folks out at the park, taking photos, jogging, or just hanging out. The ice cream truck has yet to make an appearance and I wonder if this summer, there will be lady cops braiding each others’ hair like last year. I like the smell of the briny East River and the avenue of pale-trunked trees that stretch down toward the Robert F. Kennedy Bridge, the way they shine golden while the sun is setting. My left knee seizes a bit while I run—I don’t think it’s a big deal. I’ve yet to experience runner’s high though. Is 3.5 miles not a long enough run to experience it?

II. At work, when I’m not busy making appointments or calling companies to get quotes on things or finagling with Lightroom, I occasionally walk the puppy. She’s a golden retriever, about 4 months old, and she loves EVERYBODY and everything. Cute things: running after leaves blowing along the street, how she likes to hold her own leash and try to instigate a game of tug-of-war by growling, how much she enjoys running with me. Not-so-cute things: she wants to play with every dog (but not every dog wants to play with her!), all the other folks who “HAVE to pet her!” (It gets annoying when it’s about the 3rd or 4th or 5th person…), how she wants to eat all the sticks but we’re not supposed to let her. Walking is a rather slow process.

III. I went to two art fairs recently, during the weekend of the Armory show. I’ll admit I didn’t understand much of the art that was shown at Pulse but was quite intrigued by one Chinese artist who used stickers! Hundreds of stickers! It’s pretty interesting. IMG_20150307_144016

I did like the Art on Paper fair much better but maybe because I’m not hip enough to understand the super abstract stuff whereas this fair had more stuff that was just pretty or interesting or maybe just overall, more accessible. I especially like art that is very detailed and show a lot of craft. I thought this piece was pretty cool, like cuts in wood within a wall.IMG_20150307_160958

IV. While doing my laundry the other day, I realized that my apartment has 3 dollies. A tiny red one, a medium-sized black one, and a large blue one. I picked the large blue one. Its wheels weren’t the best as it only liked to go straight and quite disliked turns but it’s funny how many dollies an apartment of three girls need. One for each of us? None of my apartments had ever had one before so I started wondering if it was a New York thing. After all, I usually associate these little wheeled carts with little old ladies, not 20-something year olds but hey, I’m now the one pushing it and my roommates don’t find it strange at all. Soon enough, I’ll start grocery shopping with it…

V. Writing news! Sorry, but actually, there is no writing news. Well, I’ve been writing stories at a decent clip, as well as submitting stuff for grants, lit mags, etc but it requires quite a bit of patience (especially grant apps!) so…nothing too exciting has been happening. Still figuring out plot points for my monk story and need to edit a bunch of my newer work. I also volunteered to read for a contest so there’s been plenty of reading happening. But actually, I’ve probably spent most of my time planning for this upcoming vacation (and still haven’t learned much Spanish.) Oh, and I also funded this cool Kickstarter started by Jed Berry for his new press, Ninepin Press. I’ve heard him read from this story and it’s awesome! Plus lots of bonuses since they’ve surpassed their goal!

I’m sure I’ve done more in the month or so since I last posted but I’m not terribly good at remembering (or maybe all I did was run and read and write and trip plan?) Well, there was eating and Chinese New Year, which is basically the same thing as eating but with more family, and making these delicious cream biscuits, and best friends visiting to go to the Studio Museum in Harlem (really cool!) and eating Sichuan food at Lan Sheng and talks about Manchuria at the NYPL, as well as more eating but who wants to read about all that? Maybe next time, I’ll just write about eating 😛

Leave a Reply

