White Snake, Green Snake in Fairy Tale Review

I’ve only recently received my contributor copies of Fairy Tale Review‘s 10th Anniversary Issue (The Emerald Issue)! It’s a Wizard of Oz-themed issue and although my story, White Snake, Green Snake is inspired by the Hangzhou folktale of 白娘子 (The Legend of White Snake) rather than the Wizard of Oz, the editors and I agree that there are some common themes. Anyway, it’s really lovely to be published in a magazine I really admire and it’s my first China story to be published! And hey, the layout is beautiful. P1110468

In other life news, it feels like maybe spring is actually coming soon so now is the time to post winter photos of NYC? Yes? Yes. Here is a ghost Manhattan, as viewed from Socrates Sculpture Park, and then a frozen Hudson River from a cold day at the Cloisters & Fort Tryon Park.P1110448 P1110458

I’m definitely looking forward to spring after this snowy winter we’ve been having. So much slush and the way the wind cuts right through your pants. Instead, there will be bike riding! A writing residency in upstate NY! (Did I tell you guys this already? It’s Writers OMI at Ledig House!) Picnics & sunshine! Rock climbing maybe! Too many exclamation points!!! Winter, sorry, but I will not miss you.

Leave a Reply

