Books of 2013

I’ve decided that I’d like to keep track of all the books I read in 2014 so I started noting down the books I remembered reading in 2013 while in China and then the books I read once I came back to the States. I, unfortunately, didn’t read much in English (besides articles/stories on the internet) while in China so this year’s amount definitely isn’t the norm. I’d always wondered how many books I read a year, though! Anyway, here’s the partial list for 2013.

1. We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler
2. The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman
3. Vampires in the Lemon Grove, Karen Russell (loved this one!)
4. St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves, Karen Russell
5. Little, Big, Jonathan Crowley (re-read)
6. The Wilder Life, Wendy McClure (non-fiction)
7. The Sisters Brothers, Patrick deWitt
8. The Glass Ocean, Lori Baker (lovely and sad, written by my thesis advisor at Brown)
9. In the House Upon the Dirt Between the Lake and the Woods, Matt Bell
10. Pow!, Mo Yan
11. Factory Girls, Leslie Chang (non-fiction)
12. Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
13. Ninety Percent of Everything, Rose George (non-fiction)
14. North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (so so dark but also amazing. Published by the awesome Small Beer Press!)
15. Americanah, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
16. Fear of Flying, Erica Jong

This year, so far, there’s been Tash Aw & George Saunders & Aimee Bender. I’d love to read more non-fiction as well but could use some recommendations! I actually saw George Saunders in conversation with Ben Stiller last night at McNally Jackson Books in NYC and was surprised to find out that they’d been friends for 17 years and to hear about the things they had in common. This is one of the great benefits of living in New York–these opportunities that you can’t find elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

